Day 138: Ridiculous

Hey there, Ray here and welcome back to another blog post. April 19, 2017.

So I slept an hour too much, so I’m going to have to write this post pretty quickly and then proceed to do enough homework so I can go back to sleep. Tomorrow I have a half day and a trip, but I still need to do basically just English homework lol. I hate teachers who make me do homework even though I don’t have their class.

Okay anyways, let’s get into the meat of the post. Now usually I don’t like to talk about controversial topics because well, people tend to get offended and possible take my words the wrong way, but holy shit, today I heard some of the most ridiculous remarks I’ve heard in a while.

So this happened in English class. We were talking about the n word and one of my classmates (no names) out of nowhere said and I quote, “I don’t think there should be a rule on who can and cannot say the n word.” After those words left her mouth, I swear everyone took a double-take to make sure we weren’t hearing things and in unison, we all just turned and looked at her in disbelief. She done fucked up.

How ignorant can you be to say that anyone should be allowed to say the n word? There is so much history and oppression with that one word. Then she started to compare the usage of the n word to people mispronouncing her last name. I quote, “people often mispronounce my last name, so I rather have them not say it at all.” Now at the time, I had no idea what the fuck this comparison was suppose to mean. How is people mispronouncing your last name even remotely on the same caliber as anybody able to use the n word. It just made no sense, there’s no way you can be that ignorant. People mispronounce my last name all the time and barely spell my first name correctly either. What does this have to do with the earlier statement you made??? I’ll get to it later.

Then she goes on to ask if “negro” was a bad word. Not sure if trolling or actually serious. Now if you’re like me, then you see the Spanish word first which means black and that’s were the word originated from. Now obviously you still wouldn’t be calling black people today negro because there’s still a negative connotation with the word and that’s just straight up weird. It’s like calling Asian people orientals…. oh wait they still do that…

Now I will give this person the benefit of the doubt and maybe when she said, “I don’t think there should be a rule on who can and cannot say the n word,” maybe she was saying that nobody should say the word. If that was the case, then her “people often mispronounce my last name, so I rather have them not say it at all,” argument makes a bit more sense, however I still think it’s a weak argument. If that’s what she’s trying to say, then maybe she should have said, “I don’t think anyone should use the word” not, “I don’t think there should be a rule on who can and cannot say the n word.”

And this isn’t the first time she said something that triggered people. Like I seriously don’t understand what’s so hard to understand. Like this person seems very confused about the whole issue as if she never studied about the way Americans treated Africans/African Americans in the earlier years. Mike was like 2 seconds away from roasting her ass.

I know it’s not good to judge people and all, but seriously.. what the fuck. Don’t be stupid, stupid. Or maybe stupid isn’t the right word. Don’t be ignorant, I guess. Like I’m no social justice warrior or anything, but yeah. Just me 2 cents, I guess.


The rest of the day wasn’t too special.

I got a new Spanish partner today. You know something I realized? If I was better in Spanish, I would enjoy the class a lot more. My teacher is actually pretty cool, but I’m always limited by my garbage Spanish, stuttering reading disability and overall anxiety in the class lol.

In other news, I’m trying hard to fix my sleep schedule, but I keep falling into the trap of napping after dinner lol. If at first you don’t succeed, just sleep it off and accept your fate lol.

In other other news, prom is in like a day now. It’s officially 4/20, so like 42 hours. I’m excited. It could either be a great time or the worst time. I’m hoping it’ll be one of those better moments of my life lol. Then again, I would be the one to fuck that up.


Okay so I know I said I was going to fill in on the post I missed yesterday, but I lied. So here’s the super basic version of yesterday’s post.

Okay so I played my 3rd exhibition match of the season and got smashed again. Our opponents, I forget their names, were okay. We (Lincoln and I) could have won if only we didn’t double fault so much. Lincoln likes to go love-40 and well I double fault once or twice a game, which is bad. No offense, but I feel like with a different partner I could have won. I definitely have to work on getting more consistent serves in. Lots of our games went to 30-40 or 40-30 or deuce, but we wouldn’t be in that position if we didn’t double fault so much. Also another thing I have to work on is following through the entire swing motion. The problem with that is, I think I apply too much force that if I follow through, the ball will go out.

In the other real matches, our school was tied 2-2 and we needed our first doubles to win their game to win and the first doubles was 1-1 and had to play a 7 point tiebreaker because they were 6-6 in game score and it came down to the wire and it was the most epic tennis match I’ve seen yet lol. Too bad we lost.


Okay I seriously need to get that English homework done, so I’ll stop it here.

Have a nice day and goodbye.

Also blaze it?

-ray


EDIT 1:12 AM:

Just checked my email and interview dates are out for that summer program. RIP RIP~ If I manage to bs my way through this interview and actually get accepted, I will be impressed with myself lol. Only time will tell..

Leave a Reply

